The Association of Minnesota Building Officials

Annual Award Recipients

Code Official of the Year AMBO Tom Joachim Award

(Formerly the Al Kleinbeck Award)

This award is for excellence in Code Administration as a Building Inspector or Building Official. The Association recognizes a Minnesota Code Official whose work and accomplishments exemplify a willingness to contribute beyond the job requirements and enhance the application of the profession through education, code development, or professional development. These efforts translate into improved public safety in the built environment.

Recipients

2019 - Cindy Shilts

2018 - Paul Heimkes

2017 - Barry Brainard

2016 - Dave Fisher

2015 - Randy Kardell

2014 - Doug Johnson

2013 - Roger Axel

2012 - Jim Williamette

2011 - Joe Ryan

2010 - Gary Yoder

2009 - Craig Hoium

2008 - Brian Hoffman

2007 - Steve Nelson

2006 - Tom Joachim

2005 - Nell Bean

2004 – Rob Nienaber

2003 – Merwyn Larson

2002 - Mick Kaehler

2001 - Greg Johnson

The Association of Minnesota Building Officials

Annual Award Recipients

Educator of the Year Award AMBO Roger Axel Award

The Educator of the Year Award is presented to an individual active in the education and training of Building Inspectors, Building Officials, and others involved in Code Administration. The award is named for Roger Axel who has been, and continues to be, instrumental in the development of the educational programs for the Region III Institute, for contractor training, and for educating code officials throughout the United States.

Recipients

2019 - Michele Engberg

2018 - no nominees submitted

2017 - Katy Hauan

2016 - John Knudson

2015 - Andy Schreder

2014 - Dan Delgehausen

2013 - Chad Lunder

2012 - Nick Carver

2010 - Glen Moreland

Building Department of the Year AMBO Building Department of the Year Award

The AMBO Building Department of the Year Award is presented to a community that has been dedicated to code development and education for Building Officials and Building Inspectors.

Recipients

2019 - City of Owatonna

2018 - no nominees submitted

2017 - City of Pipestone

2016 - City of Minneapolis

2015 - City of Hastings

2014 - City of Blaine

2013 - Goodhue County

2012 - City of Maple Grove

2011 - City of Maplewood